FREE shipping
over £19,90

The Bombs That Brought Us Together

Buy

Shipping 48 hours

£7.99

Paperback / softback Edition 2017

Other editions

A summary…

  • Sometimes to keep the ones you love safe, you have to do something bad
  • What would you do to keep your family safe?
  • Packed with powerful moral questions

Review by Boolino

By Publishing Perspectives

Brian Conaghan received the Costa Children’s Book Award for The Bombs That Brought Us Together (Bloomsbury), which the judges say is “Tender yet also hilariously funny…a necessary take on modern life in extraordinary circumstances.”

Read more

Commented on Boolino blog

  • We Come Apart - The Review

    We’ve talked about The Bombs That Brought Us Together in the following post We Come Apart - The Review:

    «We Come Apart by Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan is a brand-new title from Bloomsbury Publishing this month. Having been asked recently to make some suggestions of YA and teen books especially ...»

    Read post

Included in topic selections

Synopsis by publisher

Fourteen-year-old Charlie Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don't want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever. Sometimes, to keep the people you love safe, you have to do bad things. As Little Town's rules crumble, Charlie is sucked into a dangerous game. There's a gun, and a bad man, and his closest friend, and his dearest enemy. Charlie Law wants to keep everyone happy, even if it kills him. And maybe it will ...Perfect for readers of Patrick Ness, John Boyne and Malorie Blackman.

Read more

Book details

Author
Brian Conaghan (6)
Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing (+1000)
Language
English
Age
12+ years
First edition
2016
Category
fiction

Editions

Main edition

Paperback / softback

The Bombs That Brought Us Together
Year
2017
Format
Paperback / softback
Pages
320
Size
129 x 198 mm. 261 g.
ISBN
9781408855768

£7.99

Buy

Hardback

2016  |  £12.99

Hardback

There is no book cover
Year
2016
Format
Hardback
Pages
368
Size
135 x 216 mm. 501 g.
ISBN
9781408855744

£12.99

Buy

Reader’s bulletin board

User participation

Share your experience with the book or show us the drawing your child did after reading it.